KUCHING: BN chairman Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak is expected to unveil BN candidates’ list within the next 21 days, said Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud yesterday.He told reporters after launching Wanita BN election machinery at the old State Legislative Assembly (DUN) complex here that the prime minister had “more or less” agreed to the list of names submitted to him.“The prime minister will announce it, he has more or less agreed. It won’t be long, probably within two to three weeks.”Also present at the gathering were Wanita BN chairperson Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and Wanita PBB deputy chief Datuk Fatimah Abdullah, who is also Minister of Welfare, Women and Family Development.In December last year, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the BN candidates’ list for the 13th general election would be announced at “the appropriate time” after taking into account strategic issues.These issues included determining whether the announcement of the candidates should be made early to give the candidates more time to better prepare themselves.Last month, Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar predicted that Parliament might be dissolved as early as two weeks after the Chinese New Year, which falls on Feb 10 this year.Meanwhile, Taib, who is also PBB president, confirmed that PBB would field one new woman candidate to replace a male MP in the impending polls, raising the party’s total number of women candidates to four.Although he did not disclose her identity, speculation is rife that the new face is Asajaya District Officer Rubiah Wang and that she would be fielded in Kota Samarahan. The seat is currently held by Dato Sri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Taib.Rubiah is a local from Kampung Tanjung Parang in Kota Samarahan.It is understood that Taib is keen to increase the party’s present pool of three woman MPs, namely Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism Deputy Minister Datuk Rohani Abdul Karim (Batang Lupar), Nancy Shukri (Batang Sadong) and Datuk Norah Abdul Rahman (Tanjung Manis).PBB is expected to contest in 14 out of the 31 parliamentary seats in Sarawak in the impending polls.The current term of Parliament automatically expires on April 28, 2013, but Najib can dissolve it earlier. After dissolution, the Election Commission must call for an election within 60 days.

By cikzah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s